MegaMix (for Sarah)

In the summer of 2004 I met a girl who would change my life.

Infinity

Her name was Sarah and she was to be my new roommate. I had never met Sarah before but we shared mutual friends/acquaintances (our third roommate being one of them).

In a matter of moments we connected in ways unimaginable. How could this complete stranger know exactly what I was thinking, enjoy the same range of music, finish my sentences, share similar views, find humour in the same ridiculous scenarios, and be able to mirror the way I was feeling at a glance?!

It didn’t take long to realize we were ‘Twin Souls’; long lost friends/sisters from another lifetime united together once again at last.

635953239350829352-1462121921_6358677831749384311847024231_best-friends-forever-friends-friendship-favim-com-1175551

Sarah and I were inseparable. The only time spent apart was when we were either in class or sleeping. Every other waking moment was filled with walks, Open Mic nights, adventurous bus rides, shopping, pub crawls, singing, reading magazines, people-watching, painting, eating popcorn, attending concerts, and laughing. There was so much laughter…

The following summer Sarah returned to her home in southern Ontario for a full-time job. It was devastating to think that we had finally just reconnected and yet here we were being separated again.

While we may have physically parted ways 11 years ago, we’ve maintained our Twin Soul connection to this day. Life has thrown many curve balls at us over the years but we’ve fought to preserve the special bond between us.

Tonight I stumbled across an old mix CD I made for Sarah when she left. The musical selection took me back in time to our days together and filled my heart with light and joy.

I am so grateful that she’s still in my life today. I love her dearly.

My life would feel incomplete without our abundance of ludicrous inside jokes…

screen-shot-2016-09-29-at-6-28-01-pm

Simply, joy.

One thought on “MegaMix (for Sarah)

Leave a comment